Eet eez ah toomah!

The irony is edible. I admit i had some suspicions around the time that i wrote My Life Everlasting, but there was still some credible opinion that arthritis or TMJD was to blame. The final diagnosis though is throat cancer; specifically a stage 3 HPV-related oropharyngeal squamous cell carcinoma. The “stage 3” part is a happy assumption, since the MRI still needs to be done to look for metastasis; that is, it could be stage 4. Regardless, the treatment is the same: about 6 weeks of image-guided radiation sprinkled with the occasional chemo cocktail party.

Seems appropriate for a sinner like me. But then i know of a guy (1 degree of separation) who had his spine severed in an industrial accident and will never walk again. I can think of some people who might deserve that, but i doubt this guy was one of them. So there’s no point to be made. It’s simply a matter of getting through. As Patrick Swayze said in Roadhouse, “things will get worse before they get better”. (At least one very kind-hearted friend still likens me to Mr. Swayze, so quoting him here is partly due to that, and the rest due to his ultimate condition, although i hope i don’t quite share his fate.)

Forgive me for this post without a point, or even a punch line. Neither come easily to me at the moment.

 

3 thoughts on “Eet eez ah toomah!

  1. I’m very sorry to hear this. Hope the treatment goes well. I’ve been through some series health scares myself and still going…

    Like

Leave a Reply

